sonofgodzilla: suki suki suki (ogawa noriko on stage)
[personal profile] sonofgodzilla
Iwasaki Moeka passed the Team 8 auditions in 2014 alongside her peers, Abe Mei, Okabe Rin, Okubora Chinatsu, Nagano Serika, Fujimura Natsuki, Onishi Momoka, Kuranoo Narumi, Shitao Miu, Cho Kurena, Hamamatsu Riona, Fukuchi Rena, Honda Hitomi, Yokomichi Yuri, the other Yokoyama Yui, Yoshino Miyu, Oda Erina, Oguri Yui, Yoshikawa Nanase, Hayasaka Tsumugi, Hirose Natsuki, and Yaguchi Moka. Unlike so many of the members we have covered already who saw their debut at the SKE48 or HKT48 theatres, Moetan's first appearance was actually in Akihabara, in the famous theatre at the top of the Don Quijote store and the two floors of arcades sandwiched in-between them... though I can't actually remember if those arcades would have been there in 2014. I get the feeling that at that time the building was all still Don Quijote all the way up, but I can't say for sure. I digress! Moetan debuted! The Team 8 revival of PARTY ga Hajumaru yo was the stage! Two years to the day after, she graduated!

Wait, what?

Moetan!


Even during the Team 8 era, it's sometimes tempting to think of AKB48 during these years as mandatory military service, yet if we entertain the idea that someone can become a ghost whilst still living, then to this day, Moetan is definitely haunting the AKB theatre. Maybe. Born in 2000, a true Millennial, Moetan was also the first ever member of AKB48 to be born in Nagasaki Prefecture, a testament to how far reaching the popularity of AKB had become at the moment, the group being a true national institution at this point. In keeping with the idea of AKB being so all encompassing at the time, Moetan never actually planned to audition at all, but rather her mother and sister sent in an application for her and she only discovered two days before the big event! It's kind of cute imagining Moetan being completely oblivious to everything, sitting there talking about her admiration for Watanabe Mayu and then suddenly finding herself thrust on stage with a real shot of following in Mayuyu's footsteps.

If there's one thing I like about Moetan, it's how enthusiastic she was regarding the members that were important to her. She was always talking about how much she loved Mayuyu and fellow Team 8 member, Shimoaoki Karin, how much she loved HKT48's Moriyasu Madoka, also from Nagasaki Prefecture. You don't need me to explain to you how adorable Moetan was during her time in AKB, she's more than capable of conveying that herself:

Moetan!


The gap between the idea of AKB48 as this coming-of-age-rite-of-passage and the pressure of real life is never more telling than in Moetan's story, however. In early April of 2016, Moetan announced that she had been accepted for her first choice of high school and really wanted to push forward towards her dream of one day become a doctor. To make this all the more tragic though, a day after this announcement, she was hospitalised with influenza and was unable to graduate properly, her name being quietly removed from the books without her ever being able to properly say good-bye. Ah, physician heal thyself, eh, Moetan? And yet, at the same time, it's easy to imagine how Moetan might want to haunt the theatre for the rest of her days. Good news though! In 2019, in Osaka, Moetan came back even if only for that concert! Joining Nacchan and Pena, Moetan finally got to say her good-byes.
sonofgodzilla: paris 2024 (stephanie au hoi-shun in the water)
[personal profile] sonofgodzilla
Title: Haunted
Universe: Sekai Ninja Sen Jiraiya
Series: Season One | Season Two | Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: The Movie | Ninja Quest (1, 2, 3, 4)
Character(s): Yamaji Kei, Yagyu Rei
Rating: U
Warnings: N/A
Summary: 27-years-old, she had retired her childish armour as Princess Ninja Emiha long ago, taking up the sacred Jiraiya armour after Touha had gone into space alongside the Space Sheriffs. The thirty-sixth Jiraiya, she thought, placing her hands around the glass. Thirty-five people before her, all working from the shadows, and the only two she knew anything about were Touha and her father.
Length: 808 words
Author's Notes: external link .

kasumi!

Haunted )

I got the slump

Mar. 22nd, 2026 01:52 am
crantz: Rincewind running (discworld)
[personal profile] crantz
Oh noooo right at the end stage of my final university course (for now) I've suddenly lost all will to do work. I've got the end term slumps. I'm doomed.

FIC: Maria-sama ga Miteru - Chinensis

Mar. 20th, 2026 05:39 pm
sonofgodzilla: fandomtrees 25 (yumi and sachiko)
[personal profile] sonofgodzilla
Title: Chinensis
Universe: Maria-sama ga Miteru
Character(s): Mizuno Youko, OC
Series: Project R.O.S.E.
Rating: U
Warnings: N/A
Summary: What did she have in common with Touko-chan, Mizuno Youko wondered idly, looking across the room at the younger girl with the ribbons in her hair and the slightly out-of-fashioned ringlets dangling from either side.
Length: 787 words
Author's Notes: external link.

chinensis

Chinensis )
sonofgodzilla: stupid kid (hong eunchae)
[personal profile] sonofgodzilla
Like Takashima Yurina, Kawamoto Saya was a draft member who was moved into Team 4, however, it must have been like the two were ships passing in the night as Sayaya was one of AKB48's first generation draft members, alongside Goto Moe, Arai Yuki, and others, and she did not join Team 4 until 2015 when Takahashi Juri was appointed captain. Before all that, however, there were auditions, and Team B!

Sayaya!


Being selected for the draft pool in September 2013, it only took a couple of months before Sayaya was placed in Team B, then under the leadership of Umeda Ayaka, joining Katayama Haruka, who had returned to the team a year prior. Another handful of months and Sayaya was promoted to being an official member of the team, after which point she was amongst of the ranks of Team B until that shuffle the year after when she was finally moved over to the new new Team 4, where she started racking up the hits, joining the senbatsu for the celebratory Kibouteki Refrain, and appearing roughly every other single, with her most noticeable absence being between Halloween Night and Kimi wa Melody, and her best streak being between High Tension and the hauntingly French sounding Negaigoto no Mochigusare.

During this time, Sayaya was of note enough to earn herself a temporary exchange student position with JKT48 in 2018. As she took up duties in Jakarta as a member of Team T, Stephanie Pricilla Indarto Putri, then a member of Team J, joined AKB—but what kills me about this moment is that there's nothing concrete to really preserve it! Stephanie did not participate in the AKB general election, which, fair, I can understand a reluctance to do this as she may have seen it as setting herself up for disappointment, but the fact that neither girl was snuck into the senbatsu for a single for their temporary groups frustrates me so much. This would have been cool! Everyone loves a guest appearance! AKS, do I have to do everything for you?! Ahem. Perhaps I'm asking too much. In truth, the exchange was in place for only just over a month so there probably wasn't time to do anything really significant, but that just frustrates me even more.

From 2018 up until 2020, when we were in and out of lockdown in the fever dream of the pandemic and events were limited, Sayaya continued to work away as a member of Team 4 until, at the last, in August, she announced her graduation during a livestream, her final performance being a stream filmed live at the theatre, a last farewell with her friends where the only audience was watching from their homes.

I'm sure no questioned this arrangement at the time, but now, looking back, it strikes me as terribly sad. With a whimper, not a bang, Sayaya left AKB, but the significance of her role was undeniable. Sayaya and many members around her were not given the attention of the departing Kami 7 or the Sakura/Jurina/Nana axis, but they were the members who carried the group during moments of change and for that, I feel that Sayaya and others like her definitely deserved better than graduating in an empty theatre.
sonofgodzilla: yamabuki hanako/hanayama aiko (hanako's first love)
[personal profile] sonofgodzilla
Title: Chinensis
Universe: Oshioki Sanshimai
Prompt: Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: S03E04 - Ninja Quest (Part 1)
Character(s): Yamabuki Yukiko, Yamambuki Tsukiko, Yamabuki Hanako, Okubo Reika, OCs
Series: Project R.O.S.E.
Rating: U
Warnings: N/A
Summary: Her expression was sheepish, embarrassed. This, Yamabuki Natsuko thought, was her older sister, Tsukiko, all over. The problem was, however, that her Tsukiko was no longer older than her. In fact, all three of her older sisters—Hanako, Tsukiko, and Yukiko, in order of distance from her—were now her younger sisters, ages 12, 14, and 16.
Length: 2508 words
Author's Notes: "When Darkness Fell, a New Heroine Arose." also: external link.

chinensis

Chinensis )

Van adventures

Mar. 14th, 2026 11:15 am
codyne: my wyvern tattoo (Default)
[personal profile] codyne
I don't know if I ever posted about the ongoing issues with my camper van... to sum up, what happened was that last fall I had decided to try to sell my van and buy a small, lightweight trailer I could pull with my truck. Got my van all emptied out and cleaned up, fixed a few small issues, picked out a trailer and put a down payment on it, and then, on the day I was scheduled to go pick up the trailer, I went out to move the van around to the back of the house so it would be out of the way when I brought the trailer home, so I wouldn't risk clipping it with the trailer as I tried to park it, because one of the big reasons I sold my previous trailer was that I am terrible at backing up, and wanted plenty of room to maneuver.

However, the grass was overgrown on the little road that goes up behind my house, and the ground was wet and uneven and the van was slipping and sliding and running into tree roots in the back yard and I panicked and tried to back out and there were branches hanging down over the road from the big hemlock tree at the side of the yard that blocked my view and I couldn't tell where I was going and ended up backing into the tree and denting the back corner of the van.

At which point, I was too stressed out to think about going to pick up a trailer, so I texted the trailer place that I'd been in an accident and couldn't come, and from there, I ended up canceling the sale and concentrating on trying to get the van fixed.

That was back in the middle of October. Since then, it's been a major pain trying to find a place to get the dent in the van fixed. Because it's a camper van with furniture built in, and things mounted on the roof that make it extra tall, your average body shop will not work on it. RV repair shops don't do body work. I took it around to three different places, called several others, called RV places for advice, got my insurance adjuster to try to find a place, then finally got one body shop in Binghamton to agree to at least give it a try and got an appointment for December 15.

They had it in the shop for a couple of days, then called me and said, sorry, they just couldn't fit it into their shop no matter how they maneuvered it around. So I took it home. They called around and finally found a place up in Amsterdam (near Albany, around 120 miles from here) that specializes in RV body repair. I sent them the estimate, they said, yes we can fix it! Yay!

Then began the process of how and when to get it up there. The weather was turning bad by that point and the snow was piling up and I started to doubt I'd even be able to get the van out of the driveway, so I finally gave up on getting it in the shop before my brother and his wife left on their winter travels (so they could at least give me a ride from Binghamton, if I could get there by bus or rental car on my return from dropping off the van), and decided to just wait until the weather got better. My next camping trip isn't planned until May, anyway, so there's plenty of time to get the van fixed before then.

So, this past week, the weather finally warmed up and the snow/ice started to melt off and it looked like a good opportunity to get the van into the shop before the next storms came in. I ended up scheduling it for Thursday, which was supposed to be 61 F and mostly clear. I made reservations on Greyhound for a bus back from Amsterdam to Binghamton at 11:30 AM, planning to leave home with the van around 7:30 so I could get to the body shop around 10 AM and have plenty of time to do all the paperwork and get the van checked in and get a ride to the bus station. I'd get back to Binghamton around 3:15 PM and then try to get a cab or a Lyft or something home.

Things went pretty much as planned. Unfortunately, I barely got any sleep the night before (I didn't really expect to, I knew I'd be stressed about whether everything would go all right -- especially whether I'd be able to get a ride home from Binghamton -- my attempts to research taxis turned up a lot of no-name taxi services with wildly varying reviews that were mostly several years old, so it seemed pretty random whether it would go well or not) and was awake from around 4 AM -- not the best condition for a 2-1/2 hour drive, followed by a four-hour bus ride, followed by an unknowable attempt to get a ride home. Also, the cold front that was expected to arrive this weekend decided to sneak in a few days early and the temperature was low 30s and windy, rather than 60s as forecast. But I set out at 7:30-ish as planned.

I'd gone out the day before to check on the van and get it ready to go after sitting in the cold all winter. I'd had a battery tender on it to keep the battery charged and it started right up. I also put air in the tires and topped up the coolant, which tends to evaporate over the winter. So I got on the road with no issues and the drive went well. I arrived at the body shop around 10 AM and got the van checked in, paid the estimate (which I'd already received a check from the insurance company for back in November, and was long spent, oh well), and got a ride to the bus, which turned out to be a bus stop, rather than an actual bus station. Things had gone smoothly and quickly at the body shop so I had nearly an hour before my bus was scheduled to arrive at 11:30. And it was still 30-ish degrees and windy and only an open bus shelter to wait in. I walked around a bit, trying to stay non-frozen (staying warm was a pipe dream), finally went into the business mall next to the bus stop -- with large signs saying PRIVATE! Business customers only! on the doors, but I thought, forget it, I'm going to pretend I belong here and stay until they kick me out or my bus comes. It was a former retail mall, so lots of benches and space and empty storefronts, and nobody seemed inclined to kick me out, so I sat on a bench until 11:20, then went out to find my bus at the stop and already boarding.

The bus ride was actually pretty pleasant. Nice, clean buses, plenty of room, comfy seats. The buses were less than half full, so everyone got one side to themselves. I was tired enough to doze off a bit. We transferred in Syracuse, with a 20-minute stop, so I walked around in the transit center a bit before getting on my next bus to Binghamton.

Got to Binghamton around 3:15, as scheduled, and was walking toward the transit center building when I saw a taxi parked in corner of the parking lot, so I went over and asked if he was available and could he take me to Windsor and he said yes, get in, gave me a set fare which was about what I was expecting, then handed me off to his wife, who was also a taxi driver, and she drove me home. So that went well! And it was a huge relief to have the most iffy part of my day go so smoothly. I got their card so I can call them to take me into Binghamton when I have to go pick up the van.

So glad to have that done! A very long and tiring day, left home at 7:30 and got home around 4 PM, all to drop my van off at the shop. I don't know how long it will take them to get the van fixed -- the guy gave me a rough estimate of a month, but a lot will depend on how soon they can work the van into their schedule and how much work it will actually require. I'm not in any hurry to get it back, though. I'm already dreading having to figure out a way to get back up there to pick up the van. I checked the bus schedules and there's only one bus per day making the Binghamton to Amsterdam trip and it leaves Binghamton at 4:50 AM. Urgh. Only other option is to rent a car to pick up in Binghamton and drop off in Amsterdam. Which would make a shorter day, but a lot more driving. Unless I can get, like, an Uber or Lyft or cab to just drive me the whole way to Amsterdam. Wonder if that would be doable? Probably cost around $300. Maybe more if gas goes skyhigh by then. Oh well, that's a problem for future me. Today me is just glad to finally have the van in the shop and getting fixed.
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios